The Blue Guitar

Posted on

IMG_0362

 

Just thought I’d show you my most important guitar. This guitar is the one that got me going on learning to play.

Here’s a little background. I’ve always wanted to play the guitar but my excuses were always bigger than the motivation to get on with it. When I was in high school I did learn a few chords and would get together with a friend who had a few guitars and other instruments and play around a little and really enjoyed it. I took piano lessons for quite a few years which is a good musical foundation for any other instrument. However, as much as I knew I would enjoy it, I went for many years without even picking up a guitar.

Fast track to 2 years ago. I mention to a friend of mine that I really want to learn how to play the guitar and start giving him all the excuses like I don’t even own a guitar, and I probably won’t be any good at it because my fingers are too big, and I’m too old to start now,etc,etc. He says to me ” Stop with all the excuses, My daughter has an extra guitar she’s not using. I’ll get it to you” Within a week he dropped off this Squier guitar. So after playing around with it for a few weeks, I mention to my wife that I think I want to take lessons. And she knows that I’m an expert procrastinator, so she takes matters in hand and gives me a couple of months of guitar lessons for Christmas. I get hooked up with a really good guitar teacher and haven’t looked back. I can now say that I’m hooked. I play as much as I can and love it. I don’t play this guitar much any more , I have a Taylor 214ce that’s my main guitar, but I do play it once in a while.

It’s got some character too. If you look at the fretboard you’ll see come wear…Yup, that’s from me. I think I was on my way to wearing it out (or maybe just wearing it in) The fretboard on this Squier has a coating that wears off, unlike a more expensive guitar that will have a wood like rosewood with an oil finish. But I think it really makes it look cool. A few weeks ago I put on a set of Elixer coated strings and am surprised at how playable it is now. I may just have to start playing it again.

This guitar is known as “The Blue Guitar” and will forever be a memorable instrument for me.

 

2 thoughts on “The Blue Guitar

    bryanjack said:
    February 8, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    I’m glad that guitar got a good home, and became such a meaningful part of your musical story, Pete. The number of jams we’ve had since then – especially when I get to rip on your Taylor ; ) – have all stemmed from the Blue Guitar, making it a special instrument indeed.

    Thanks for sharing its (and your) story!

    Saturday Night Jam « Introduction to Guitar said:
    May 13, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    […] dad’s friend Pete (who introduced us to the Blue Guitar a few months back) & I were able to slip away from dinner on Saturday night to swap some scales […]

Leave a Reply

