I Have Been Working on Black

Posted on Updated on

Hello to all the Intro to Guitar Jammers,

Thought I disappeared didn’t you? I have been digging through the various assignments and other posts. Not sure I am as connected as I would like to be, but I did make my “Here is what I am working on,” video:

The song Black is pretty special to me. Take a listen here for a deeper look. Anyway, I will keep at it. Trying to nail that last part. Looking forward to a Soundcloud recording soon. Let me know if you would like to work together. Would love some help and your touch!

3 thoughts on “I Have Been Working on Black

    bryanjack said:
    February 23, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Nice! Great to see you back, Jabiz, and taking on such a great song. It’s a ‘big’ one to sing, for sure, if relatively easy to strum. I’ve known how to play ‘Black’ for a while, but it’s not one I break out very often, as the last stretches of it are hard to do justice, I find. When it works I think it’s because I’m able to sync the intensity (and rhythm) of the guitar to what I can do with my voice (or what my landlord who lives upstairs would appreciate me doing with my voice).

    It’s a great song to take on as your own though. There is only one Vedder, to be sure, meaning everyone has to make their own way with it.

    Keep at it, would love to see this come together as an asynchronous jam, or polished recording!

    ColinJagoe said:
    February 24, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Wicked! Way to just give it your all on the vocal! That’s something that not many people let themselves do. I’ve always found the PJ tunes we so intense, that I never could do them justice. Although I’ve really gotten into some of the later Eddie Vedder stuff, on his uke album, and the soundtrack for Into the Wild, there’s some beautiful guitar and mandolin on that one. I’ve been working on a few of them too.

    The Boss on the Tenor « Introduction to Guitar said:
    February 24, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    […] watching Jabiz and Bryan’s vids today, I thought I’d ante up on that as well. A little intro to the […]

Leave a Reply

