lachrymose and weary

Posted on Updated on

Jabiz again. A few nights ago, I was reading student blogs and came across this stunning poem by one of my grade 8 students- Michelle. She is extremely talented and a bit music obsessed like me. Take a look at her work here.

Back to the poem. I couldn’t help but think that these words would make a great song. I have decided to play around with them a bit and have asked her to do the same. Maybe you can help us out too. What can you do with them? Maybe we can all bring these words to song together. Let us know if you are interested.

lachrymose and weary

What if pain was more than an emotion?
What if pain scarred your insides,
made your heart bleed
broke your bones
and bruised your skin?
If that’s the case, I must be in pieces.

What if paranoia was a disease;
taking you over muscle by muscle.

What if inadequacy was a condition;
and only the flawless were truly normal.

What if honesty was only another word for lies;
“I will” another way to say “I won’t”?

What if life was just a game;
and winning was only the beginning;
lovers only to throw you off your path;
friends only there for empty promises;
enemies as the only listeners.

What if nothing meant anything?

5 thoughts on “lachrymose and weary

    ColinJagoe said:
    February 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Wow. I struggle with lyric writing, and have never managed to put together anything that I’d like others to hear. I’ve always wanted to write songs, but they always end up trite or cliche. This is great. I’ll play with it a bit too and see if I can offer anything.

    bryanjack said:
    February 26, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    I haven’t quite worked out the timing yet, or all of the chords, but I started working on a songified version of this poem… that I think changes keys each verse. Odd structure so far – probably why it’s not fitting together very well!

    Stay tuned: I’ll post a recording soon!

    Lachrymose and Weary « Introduction to Guitar said:
    February 27, 2013 at 4:34 am

    […] wanted to run with the poem Jabiz shared the other day and spent some time during class today playing with some simple chords and a google […]

    […] February 25, I shred a poem that one of my grade 8 students shared on her […]

Leave a Reply

