lachrymose remix v.4?

Posted on

So I took a shot at this too. I was sitting tonight with my guitar playing downer tunes (Creep by Radiohead, and a deathly slow version of Old Man by Neil Young) Guess I was in a mood. So I was mucking about with chords, and the thought crossed my mind, that I should write some lyrics to this.. wait.. or try Michelle’s lyrics. See Jabiz’s post for the history again.  So I pulled up the Google Doc and started messing around with things lyrics and chords. I moved, added, changed, deleted as it struck me. The lyrics really are pretty awesome. (Thanks again Michelle!)

Process Notes:

Did a few takes in GarageBand till I thought it was presentable, then recorded it. Decided to maybe try some fills and backing with my electric, so plugged in. Something sounded off, so I tuned the electric and tried again. Nope. Then I realized that my acoustic original track was not tuned right. So… tuned that guitar, and did the take again. This took quite a bit of time, so lesson to take away? Tune. Often. 🙂   I also had a few tech issues plugging different mics and things into my computer, so that never goes smoothly as you hope. So lessons learned there too.

Here ’tis. My downer version of Lachrymose. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “lachrymose remix v.4?

    bryanjack said:
    March 5, 2013 at 2:02 am

    Great second-guitar sounds, Colin! Love the sparse arpeggios, and what they do to create the rest of the song’s mood here… There’s an almost Stone Temple Pilots thing going on here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qe7m1VzD2Fk

    You’ve really given the poem / song some musical and lyrical sense of resolution, too. The guitar solo taking over from the bridge is a great transition back to the quieter verse at the end, and a return to the opening lines.

    Fantastic!

      ColinJagoe responded:
      March 5, 2013 at 2:07 am

      Thanks Bryan, this is total uncharted territory for me. It’s awesome to have seen the others process about songwriting to glean ideas.

        bryanjack said:
        March 5, 2013 at 8:46 pm

        This is an awesome endorsement of the learning going on here, Colin – “Totally uncharted territory,” for someone who’s a seasoned player, and not getting credit for the course!

        I really appreciate all of the momentum and risk-taking people of every ability level are lending to #Introguitar. It makes for such a rich and empathetic learning space.

        Keep it up, yo!

    NJM said:
    March 5, 2013 at 6:32 am

    Ah yes, this whole process is hilarious! I love hearing all of these versions birthed from a single poem. This recording sounds great Colin. The electric is well used, and not overdone, quite complimentary.

      ColinJagoe responded:
      March 5, 2013 at 4:45 pm

      Thanks Nathan! I took some cues from your lyrics in terms of moving and changing words here and there, so I appreciate hearing about your process when you did your take on it. Fun stuff for sure.

    onepercentyellow said:
    March 5, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Love the melody you take from the “make your heart bleed” Reminds me of a great band from Edmonton – The Wheat Pool. http://music.cbc.ca/#/artists/The-Wheat-Pool – I especially suggest listening to Peniel, SK.
    I agree with bryanjack with the use of harmonics. just lovely.

    […] morning recording a new incarnation of the song (version III now, if you were counting), and so did Colin Jagoe, in […]

    […] morning recording a new incarnation of the song (version III now, if you were counting), and so did Colin Jagoe, in […]

Leave a Reply

