Challenge accepted

Posted on

So here’s my attempt at the bass track for Van Morrison’s Wild Night. Maybe someone can download it and play over it and make me look good. Or at least better.

Playing with a metronome is hard. I can really empathize with this guy (Warning: cat video). I slowed it down to 110 beat per minute, and left at least four bars of lead-in to make it a little easier for anyone else to play along with it. I’m not sure how many mistakes I made. The pattern I was trying for was
verse – pre-chorus – chorus – verse – pre-chorus – chorus – chorus

2 thoughts on “Challenge accepted

    bryanjack said:
    February 17, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    Nice work, Paul! The bassline is pretty smooth here, and will be fun to play along with for sure. Though there is something you can do (either here or in a future recording) to make the process a little more fluid: record yourself while listening to the metronome in headphones, so the ticking doesn’t show up in your recording (or the subsequent layers). I like that you’ve slowed the rhythm down some, as well – both to make it more playable for beginners on Bass as well as Guitar, and to give the song more of our own feel/not try to imitate Van’s scorching rendition.

    Nice work!

      phb256 responded:
      February 17, 2014 at 9:20 pm

      I thought the click might help – it emphasizes the beat and the one better than my playing – but it is way too loud. I tried using this one (http://www.gieson.com/Library/projects/utilities/metronome/) because it sounds more like a real drum, but it didn’t work out so well when I tried recording. Eventually I’ll get it.

Leave a Reply

